Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar


Part -III


Science and Technology: Achievements of Indians in S&T


#Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar #National Technology Day #National Space Day #Vigyan Ratna #Vigyan Shri #Vigyan Yuva Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar #Vigyan Team #Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee #Principal Scientific Adviser #Technology Development Board



The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar awards were introduced to replace approximately 300 awards from Scientific Ministries. These awards were largely internal awards.

The awards will be announced every year on National Technology Day, May 11, and presented on National Space Day, August 23.

Awards and their respective fields:

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar will be awarded in 13 science-related domains. There are 56 Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar awards in total.

1.     Vigyan Ratna (3 awards): Recognizes lifetime achievements of scientists.2.     Vigyan Shri (25 awards): Recognizes distinguished contributions to a field.

3.     Vigyan Yuva Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (25 awards): Encourages young scientists under 45 years old with exceptional contributions.

4.     Vigyan Team (3 awards): Recognizes teams of three or more.

13 domains:

Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology and Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science, and Technology.


  1. Indian Citizens
  2. Vigyan Ratna: Limited to one award for PIOs.
  3. Vigyan Shri and VY-SSB: Up to three PIOs can be selected for each of these awards.
  4. PIOs are not eligible for the Vigyan Team awards.

Selection Committee:

Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee (RVPC), led by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India.

The committee Members: Secretaries of Science Departments, members of Science and Engineering Academies, and distinguished scientists, ensuring a transparent and fair selection process.

Conferment: President of India or the Vice President.


  1. These are like “Nobel Prize-like” science awards.
  2. The awards are comparable to the prestigious Padma awards.
  3. To inspire scientists, technologists, and innovators to strive for excellence in their respective fields.


In contrast, the National Technology Awards by the Technology Development Board include cash prizes of ₹25 lakh for teams.


National Technology Day:

First observed in 1999 and named by former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, commemorates Indian scientists’ achievements.

Celebrated on May 11th, it marks the successful nuclear tests in Pokhran in 1998, including the test-fire of the Shakti-1 nuclear missile (Operation Shakti).

2023 Theme: ‘School to Startups-Igniting Young Minds to Innovate’.

National Space Day:

August 23rd is designated as “National Space Day” from 2023 to celebrate the successful landing of Chandrayaan-3’s lander and rover on the Moon.

Person of Indian Origin (PIO):

A Person of Indian Origin (PIO) is someone from another country (except a national of Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China, Iran, Bhutan, Sri Lanka and Nepal), who either had an Indian passport, has family roots in India, or is married to an Indian citizen or another PIO.

Scroll to Top