India nominates 12 forts of Marathas for UNESCO World Heritage List.

Syllabus: GS-I

Subject: History-Art and Culture

Topic: Art and architecture

Issue: World Heritage Sites

Context: India has nominated the “Maratha Military Landscapes” for inclusion in the UNESCO World Heritage list for 2024-25.

Maratha Military Landscapes:

  • These are a network of forts that showcase the strategic military powers of Maratha rule.(Examples – Khanderi, Raigad, Rajgad, Pratapgad forts)
  • Developed between the 17th and 19th centuries.
UNESCO World Heritage Sites:●     Designated for their cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance.

●     Process for selection: Nominated by the host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark.

●     Objective: Conservation, protection from human or animal trespassing, unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence.

At present in India, there are 42 World Heritage sites out of which 34 are cultural sites, 7 are natural sites and 1 is a mixed site.

Scroll to Top