Air no longer ‘poor’: Curbs to tackle pollution withdrawn in Delhi

Syllabus: GS-III, Subject: Environment, Ecology and Disaster Management, Topic:  Pollution, Issue: Air Pollution

Context: withdrawal of all measures to control pollution in Delhi-NCR, on the account of improvement in air quality.

Air Quality Index (AQI):

  • It is a measure of air quality. The higher the AQI, the worse the air.
  • There are six categories of AQI, namely Good’ (0-50), ‘Satisfactory’ (50-100), ‘Moderately polluted’ (100-200), ‘Poor’ (200-300), ‘Very Poor’ (300-400), and ‘Severe’ (400-500).
  • The pollutants measured include PM 10, PM 2.5, NO2, SO2, CO, O3, NH3, and Pb.

Graded Response Action Plan or GRAP:

  • It is a set of emergency measures used to prevent deterioration of air quality in the Delhi-NCR region.
  • Implemented by the Commission for Air Quality Management (CAQM)

Prelims Connect : (Institutions in News)

Commission for Air Quality Management (CAQM)

  • It is a statutory body.
  • Established under Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas Act, 2021
  • Responsible for forming air pollution reduction strategies for the region and overseeing their implementation.
  • Replaced the Environment Pollution (Prevention and Control) Authority (EPCA).
Scroll to Top